• A-
  • A
  • A++

Organizational Structure

Prior to the implementation of the 1992 Act, urban local government was defined by the Municipal Corporations, Municipal Councils, Town Area Committees and Notified Area Councils/Committees. Hence, the structure and composition of municipalities varied considerably, with wide differences in definition and structure between States.

The 1992 Act brought uniformity in the constitution of the municipal bodies by classifying them as Municipal Corporations for large urban areas, Municipal Councils for smaller urban areas, followed by Nagar Panchayats and suburban government bodies.

The Municipal Corporation of a state is divided into zones and every zone has its Municipal Commissioner, followed by Municipal Corporation Inspectors. The Municipal Commissioner is the Chief Executive Officer and head of the executive arm of the Municipal Corporation. All executive powers are exercised by the Municipal Commissioner.

The Commissioner is appointed for a fixed term as defined by state statute. The Commissioner's tenure can be extended or reduced. The powers of the Commissioner are those provided by the statute and those delegated by the Corporation or the Standing Committee.